Eliminate The Negative!

Mrs Stewart, the Maths teacher, and I were at Mill Mount together for seven years. She taught me for every one of those years and left to have her first baby when I left the Upper Sixth. I liked Mrs Stewart from the start and as an eager first year wanted to impress her with my first maths homework. I spent hours drawing, rubbing out and drawing again until the paper was almost rubbed through.

When I got my homework back, the paper had rubbed through and Mrs Stewart looked at me through the hole. I was mortified then and also when she repeated the story several times over the next seven years. At an earlier reunion in 1985, I was a responsible 25 year old and she greeted me as an old friend….. and the first thing she came up with when talking about me, was the hole in my first maths homework!

Annie Weir

Leave a comment